Zombie Elementary – Howard Whitehouse

Howard Whitemore - Zombie Elementary

Tundra Books, a division of Random House of Canada Ltd.

“NNGAARRRGGGGHHH!!!!”

I must preface this by saying that I am not the target audience of this book. By far. Despite this, I loved this quick, entertaining read and I thank Tundra Books for approving my request for an e-book ARC. 

The reader is introduced to Larry Mullet, a fourth grader… and a zombie hunter. When weird things start to happen at Brooks Elementary, Larry and his friends must come to the rescue of the town, because the adults are seemingly oblivious to the entire debacle. The story is told from Larry’s POV, interspersed with random interview snippits between Larry and Kyle and hilarious “Zombie Tips”.

The characters were all very realistic and immediately brought me back to my elementary school days. I could immediately remember a person from my past who fit the description of nearly every person in this book with startling clarity. The nostalgic feeling, and the instances of humour that made me laugh out loud really made this a fun read. Then we add in zombies, hilarious zombie tropes, references to almost every amazing zombie movie… and Chuck. Love. Him. I feel like these references were added into the book by the author in case an adult or older child/teen had picked up this book out of curiosity. The younger demographic would come to know these movies and tropes later on in life but I found them to be a great addition and make this a book that almost anyone could read and find hilarious.

My only “issue” with the book was resolved as I read. I initially was put off by the idea that every adult in the town would be so oblivious to the zombie issue, however, I suspended my disbelief and replaced it with an understanding of what Howard Whitehouse was trying to do. The very hush hush kids are the only ones with imaginations who could see beyond rationalizations became a very prominent trope as I continued to read… and it made total sense by the end. You could almost believe that the kids were making everything up. Which I loved.

In the end, I gave this book 4/5. It is a book that I would highly recommend, and not just to the kids in my life. Anyone with an interest in zombies, humour, or even baseball, would get a kick out of this book.

Zombie Elementary is available to purchase online or in store September 9th, 2014.

 

3 thoughts on “Zombie Elementary – Howard Whitehouse

  1. Pingback: Tuesdays with Tundra 42 | Talking with Tundra

  2. Pingback: Tuesdays with Tundra forty two | JanNews Blog

  3. Pingback: Tuesdays with Tundra 42 | Xcuz Me

Leave a Reply

